According to Skintrovert: MAY LINDSTROM SKIN

Screen Shot 2016-07-16 at 18.52.20

May Lindstrom is a woman who needs no introduction. At this point it’s safe to say she’s somewhat of a superstar in the skincare community. Her name has popped up on the blog several times in the past, especially during my #Skinterviews! I have been asked by many of you to review May’s coveted all-natural skincare range, and in this post, I will do just that. Here are my loves, likes, and leaves

 

LOVE…THE HONEY MUD

I won a full-sized pot of The Honey Mud through an Instagram giveaway hosted by Green & Pure*, a retailer of natural beauty products in British Columbia, Canada. I’m going to be honest with you—I did not expect to like The Honey Mud at all. It was a pleasant surprise to say the least! THM is a luxurious, aromatic honey- and clay-based cleansing cream that contains awesome essential oils and colloidal silver, of all things! A lot of people describe the texture of THM as “pudding-like”, but I find it to be even thicker. Because it’s so thick, it would probably be easiest to scoop the product out of its gorgeous MIRON Violetglass jar with your fingers, but for the sake of hygiene, I always use a cosmetic spatula. If you’re like me and also use a spatula to retrieve the product, you’ll know what I mean when I say “pudding-like” doesn’t quite cut it when describing its texture, because it often falls clean off the spatula, meaning you have to go back in a few times to get a decent amount. THM is intended to serve a dual-purpose as both a daily skin cleanser (and light makeup remover) and skin-nourishing mask. Personally, I would never use THM as a cleanser, as I don’t find there is anything particularly cleansing about it. On the other hand, it is absolutely sublime as a hydrating, nourishing, gorgeous treatment mask. I apply a thick layer of the product to pre-cleansed and toned skin—enjoying the feel on my fingertips when the thick texture turns slightly moussey as it’s blended across the face—and leave it on for as long as I can, all the while inhaling its intoxicating scent. THM is amazing when used alone or as the final mask in my triple threat mask routine. If you were lucky enough to experience the incredible and incomparable Tawaka Rare Harvest shampoo and conditioner that Ojon used to make, the scent of THM is a dead ringer—sweet, rich, earthy, and chocolatey. Everything about this product is a win for me, and I wouldn’t hesitate to repurchase in the future.

*Green & Pure are awesome — amazing selection of products and incredible customer service. Please visit their website here if you’re a Canadian looking to buy natural beauty products!

 

LOVE…THE JASMINE GARDEN

I was able to try The Jasmine Garden because of the amazing sampling program that Clementine Fields (another Canadian retailer of natural beauty products) offers. I paid for the sample from CF, but I’m pleased to report that I would happily pay again for the full-sized product. TJG is a hydrating mist toner that contains a lot of the same botanical ingredients The Honey Mud does. The two products also share the inclusion of colloidal silver, which, in this application, I find to be particularly healing. Healing is a great word to describe TJG, actually—you can see and feel how your skin is immediately calmed and revived after a few spritzes. Because TJG and THM share a lot of the same essential oils, the two products smell extremely similar, but the inclusion of Damask rose oil in TJG makes it smell sexier. Cocoa and rose are two fragrances I never thought would mix, but TJG certainly changed my mind! I was able to make my small sample spritzer last quite a while, using it post-cleanse and when my routine was going to err on the sides of light and comforting (i.e., a gentle cleanse, tone, and a skin-loving balm or oil-blend). For whatever reason, I think it just seems wrong to pair May’s products with super high-tech and/or super intensive clinical formulas. Don’t ask me why, because I really can’t explain it. Something about following, say, Biologique Recherche’s Lotion P50 with TJG and then following TJG with Sunday Riley’s Good Genes or Luna Sleeping Night Oil almost seems criminal. It’s almost like I feel May’s products deserve to be the stars of a routine, or be used in conjunction with those that provide nourishment and lend more to the ritualistic aspect of a routine. I’m sure you all think I’m crazy at this point.

 

LIKE…THE BLUE COCOON

Let’s not dance around the fact the no one in the skincare world even knew what blue tansy was until The Blue Cocoon came to light and quickly adopted its cult status. Now everyone and their dog is formulating with blue tansy. Major hat-tip to May—gotta give credit where credit is due! Like The Jasmine Garden, I got my hands on TBC by paying for a sample through Clementine Fields. This product is sensorial bliss. If you poured melted dark chocolate into a bottle of Sunday Riley’s Luna Sleeping Night Oil (there’s that blue tansy crossover again…), you would end up with a concoction that smells very similar to what I think TBC smells like. It’s a difficult scent to explain. To be completely honest, I don’t think it’s the orgasmic/coma-inducing scent a lot of people make it out to be, but it does smell good. Really good. Like, I will open up my sample jar just to smell it for fun, because I want to. TBC is what I would call a “rescue product”, akin to the Clarins Skin Beauty Repair Concentrate SOS Serum, but in balm form. Whatever your skin issue is, you can count on TBC to sort it out, provided you’re applying the balm correctly (May’s website states that TBC should be applied to wet skin. Personally, I’ve found that the best way to use TBC is to apply it after misting the face with TJG: melt a small amount of the balm between your hands and press it into your face while it is still damp from TJG). I used to have qualms with the price of TBC, but when you consider the ingredients it contains (immortelle is horrifyingly expensive, and the start-to-finish process of obtaining frankincense oil is totally manual human labour), the price is indeed justifiable. What stops this from being a “LOVE” rather than a “LIKE” is that it only comes in one size for one price. For those of us who don’t have reactive skin that needs the TLC a product like this provides, it is simply impossible to use up the entire jar before it expires. I have used my sample jar from CF many times and still have a lot of it left, so it would probably take me years and years to get through the full-size product using it on my face alone, and sporadically at that. I have heard through the grapevine that May is working on creating travel sizes of her products, but don’t take my word as gospel!

 

LIKE…THE PROBLEM SOLVER

The Problem Solver was the first product of May’s that I tried. My gorgeous friend Ruhi provided me with a generous sample of it when we did a swap a while back, and Green & Pure also hooked me up with a generous sample when I won The Honey Mud from their giveaway. Having used the mask several times over the course of almost two years, you better believe I have some opinions… the first being that it DOES NOT smell like Christmas cookies—it smells like a spicy swamp! *wiggles eyebrows* Not saying that’s a bad thing! The very first time I used TPS I mixed in way too much water. You actually don’t need as much as you think you do—when May says equal parts mask-to-water, she’s not lying. When you mix up this mask it should not be watery and runny, it should be thick and jet black (because of the bamboo charcoal), like war paint. May sells an artisan clay bowl and brush separately to aid in mixing and applying the mask. Although the bowl and brush are beautiful, you can use ones that you already have. And applying the mask with a brush is indeed the best way to do it. Now, I don’t know if it’s because my skin is as tough as nails, having bludgeoned it with hardcore acid peels over the years, but I don’t find this mask as strong as most people make it out to be. I’ve heard some refer to it as the “death mask”, but in my experience, this couldn’t be further from the truth. Cinnamon, nutmeg, clove, and cayenne pepper enhance skin circulation, and are found at the end of the INCI. These ingredients are most likely the ones responsible for creating the sizzling hot and tingling sensation a lot of people describe when using TPS, but for me, all I get is a gentle tickle when the mask is first applied, and it is short-lived. Actually, I find the mask most intense when rinsing it off, as you can really feel the abrasive action of the fuller’s earth, sea salt, and granules from the spices polishing the skin. I’ve mixed TPS with The Honey Mud, transforming it into a rich scrub-mask, and changing the experience of it entirely. Even though this is just a “LIKE” from me, I would purchase the full-size of TPS. Go figure!

{N.B.: There is no such thing as “reactivating” a skincare product, especially not one like this. You activate the powdered ingredients one time and only one time through mixing with water or some other solution that contains water, and once the water has dried/evaporated into the atmosphere and the mask ingredients have interacted with your skin, IT IS DEAD. There is no reviving/reactivating it. Spraying over the dried mask with a thermal water or a mist toner wastes them and forces you to wait until the mask dries again. Just like when you mist over other skincare products, all you’re doing is breaking them down. Leave the mask on for 45 minutes like May suggests and rinse it off.}

 

LEAVE…THE CLEAN DIRT

Green & Pure sent a sample of The Clean Dirt to me when I won The Honey Mud in their giveaway, so without them I wouldn’t have been able to try this product! Unfortunately, out of all of May’s products, this one is a miss for me. I do like scrubs every now and then, but I found this to be exceedingly harsh. It worries me somewhat that its dedicated product page on May’s website refers to it as “daily micro-dermabrasion”. I would not advise using this product daily. I only had to use it a couple of times before I knew that simply mixing with water to create a scrub-paste was going to be too much for my skin to handle. I tried using it in the same manner as The Problem Solver, but did not find it as effective. I had much better success mixing it in with THM to create a creamy scrub. But the thing is, you don’t have to do that. THM is great on its own, which leaves me feeling that TCD is wholly unnecessary. On a brighter note, unlike TPS, TCD smells FANTASTIC!

 

Hopefully you guys found this helpful! Any questions, leave ‘em below!

11 thoughts on “According to Skintrovert: MAY LINDSTROM SKIN

  1. OMG I hope you’re right about May coming out with travel sizes!! Some of the full sizes are crazy like you mentioned with Blue Cocoon. Problem solver is HUGE, but such a good value per ounce comparing to similar detox masks. I definitely need a travel size Blue Cocoon in my life though!

    I dead on agree with you about clean dirt. Daily micro – dermabrasion, no thanks. I could hardly get through one session since it stung my face…which is odd considering PS didn’t bother me much like it seems to with so many others. I think the tingling/stinging is actually more intense with Mahalo Pele!

    Jasmine Garden, you sold me. You made it sound exactly like everything I love in a scent, and I’m obsessed with face mists as is. I always just assumed it would be a one dimensional jasmine scent…but now I’m wondering why on earth would I expect that from May?? Must get my hands on a sample!

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, excellent reviews!

    – Annie (Nouished Beauty)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your honest review, like myself I purchased all of my ML products and I will repurchase them again. Although sometimes I have to break some rules by applying my HG Retinol Reform by Shani Darden just because I need it, I’m almost 40. I will continue to follow you on IG and check your blog more often as I enjoyed reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful reading, thank you very much for your honest and funny review. Thank to this reading my waiting to get my ML order is harder and harder (probably will happen tomorrow but leaving to UK for some days so will have to wait again). I purchased The Blue Cocoon some time ago but then have realised that the routine is not complete and that need the rest of ML line. So meanwhile I am inhaling the wonderful scent of TBC almost every night but can´t use it without its siblings.
    One more time…thank you for your blog, honest opinion and your point of view. It was a pleasure to start my Sunday reading it.
    Warm regards,
    Mar

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think I’m the only blogger in the camp of not loving Jasmine Garden, probably because it makes me realize I’m not overly in love with jasmine. And, I’m 100% on the same page with you on Blue Cocoon. Now that travel sizes are on the way it will make SO much more sense to buy for many consumers!

    I only liked Problem Solver as well, until I started to get creative with it. I have an essence I’m underwhelmed by and use it in place of water with a bit of Blue Cocoon (because how else will I use it up? lol) and then I LOVE the mask. There are so many ways to customize it with other products you have on hand, I love that!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love the smell of jasmine, but TJG doesn’t really smell like jasmine at all to me! All I get is cocoa and rose.. not that I’m complaining about that, but I do see how it could be polarizing. 😉 That’s a good idea using an essence to amp up TBC… and you’re right, what better way to use more of it so you’ll at least stand a CHANCE at finishing it before it expires. 😛

      Like

  5. I loved this post!!! I love May’s products it like you I’m not a huge fan of clean dirt. I like blue cocoon but it’s not as dramatic as people make it out to be. To be honest I thought TJG smelled like poop when I first tried. I like it now after using it a few times. I’ll purchase again because of great ingredients.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Someone asked me if I made a review on May Lindstron products and I don’t know if she’s following me, but I told her to go to your blog because you made a thorough review on ML products. I love reviews that has humor (in a good way ) , or am I the only one on this?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the referral, hun. 🙂 x Nope, you’re not alone… I find humourous reviews to be more real, because humour is a difficult thing to “fake” in writing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

